Learning to Listen

I had a really long and powerful session at acupuncture last night. I can’t really explain it in words, but we talked for a long time before the needles even went in and then walked home together afterwards. I felt so much relief and today, although my headache is present, the pain is not as bad as usual. I’m beginning to really believe that my emotional and mental state directly impact my physical well being. To help the physical pain subside I will start listening to myself, to what is really hurting inside. Not so that I can fix it (which of course is my immediate reaction to a problem) but so that I can just be aware of reality. I’ve spent so much of my life avoiding or escaping reality, I have trained myself to believe things that have never been true. Even in sobriety. Especially in sobriety. I know my 4th step will help me with this as well. It’s nice to be able to breathe today.

Look out for a special guest post from Alicia on Friday!

What helps you listen?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

