Today i-is Friday, Friday

Yesterday was Thursday, Thursday
Today i-is Friday, Friday (Partyin’)
We-we-we so excited
We so excited
We gonna have a ball today

Tomorrow is Saturday
And Sunday comes after…wards

Please tell me you have all seen the Rebecca Black “Friday” Youtube video. It’s pretty ridiculous, but helpful if you forget the order of the days of the week. For anyone who is still confused: TODAY IS FRIDAY!

Tonight Caron, her Husband!!! and I are going to see Thor. In 3D. WOOOO!!

They are leaving on their honeymoon tomorrow and even though I know it will be amazing, I am going to miss them like crazy! Bestfriend-withdrawal is not one of my favorite things. But since I have all of YOU, I think I will make it through. I have already decided we’re seeing The Hangover II when they return 🙂

My new sponsor, let’s call her “Awesome Sponsor Lady” or ASL for short, has suggested I get to 4 meetings a week for the time being. I’ve been hitting maybe 2 or 3, so it’s time to do some research on good meetings after 9pm or early mornings – any NYC suggestions welcome in the comments! I usually stick to my neighborhood, but I am open to traveling as long as it’s not way downtown or way uptown. I am also supposed to call one person with less time and one person with more time than me everyday, so newcomers: I’m coming to find you!

Staying sober one day at a time is easier than it was years ago…but dealing with the rest of life can be a difficult daily task. Stress, headaches, snuffy nose, eating 80% raw vegan, work, relationships, family drama, worrying about my future…it’s a lot. But I know that because I am sober I have a network of people to help me through all of it. Today I am grateful for my sober family, because they let me know one day at a time, that I don’t have to do everything on my own. I was alone when I used. I wasn’t a party girl in the end- I was a “stay-at-home” addict. I just hid in my room, used and drank. Sometimes I would drink in bed, in the dark until I fell asleep – the way some people drink warm milk. It was a sad existance filled with empty bottles and cans and baggies every morning. Today, I live differently. Today, I brush my teeth before I go to bed. And even on the worst days where everything seems to be going wrong, I know that I still have a chance at life. I still have a chance to become a better person, to be a better friend, to learn how not to live in fear. If I pick up a drink or a drug, I have no chance, no choice.

So today, FRIDAY, I choose life.

What do you choose today?

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun

Leave a Reply

