Easter!

 Overheard in NYC:

Little girl to babysitter: If there’s one person I would want to eat in this whole world it would be Santa Claus. I bet he tastes like mint… and candy. Or maybe the Easter bunny. He probably tastes like prizes.

–72nd St & 3rd

Hey kids! This coming Sunday is Easter – you know that holiday with colored eggs and candy in baskets and people dressed up as bunny suits? Oh shoot! You thought the Easter Bunny was real? My sincere apologies for ruining your childhood. I still remember the day I found a drawing I’d left for the Easter bunny in a drawer in our kitchen two weeks after the big day. I was six years old and pretty upset and I never told my mom about it.

You know what I find interesting about Easter? It marks the Christian celebration of the day Jesus rose from the dead. How the heck does that equate to hiding eggs all over your yard and eating chocolate bunnies and marshmallow peeps? Easter is actually the name of a pagan goddess and eggs are the pagan symbol of rebirth. The traditions started a long time ago in Europe somewhere, but they simply have nothing to do with a dead 33 year old man mysteriously disappearing out of a tomb blocked by a huge boulder. Just a few of the  many reasons why I think there is something a tad off with organized religion…

Woah – sorry to get so political on you there. I don’t want to get controversial, but after playing a scholar of western religion on TV when I was in college – my youth group days were over. I grew up in the Church but through all my personal trials, tribulations and formal studies, I can honestly say I don’t believe in it anymore. My parents are what Leo deems Super Christians. Leo apparently has never met a televangelist in person…or heard people talk in tongues. Thanks Mom and Dad for being regular Christians and still scaring the boyfriend 🙂

Source

Although I wouldn’t consider myself Christian today I am certainly not an atheist. I have a relationship with my Higher Power (via the 12 steps) and not with the Christan God. Whether or not the Christian God exists is really irrelevant for me. Luckily for me, AA and NA are spiritual programs, not religious ones. My number one pet peeve is when someone closes a meeting with The Lord’s Prayer. Um, that would be an inherently Christian prayer and in no way represents a non-religious spirital bond with HP.

STOP SAYING THAT PRAYER, IT IS RELIGIOUS!

Ok, just had to get that off my chest. I realize that the 12 steps are very much rooted in Christianity as the founder of AA, Bill W., was a Christian, but this ain’t the 1950’s anymore and AA is not in any way whatsoever affiliated with the Church. You don’t have to find God to get sober or to be a member of AA. You just have to be open to the possibility that there is something out there more powerful than yourself that cares about you and is helping to keep you sober.

Now, that is not to say I don’t like baking gingerbread cookies, decorating pine trees in my parents’ living room, leaving said cookies on the fireplace for a large fat man in a red suit to retrieve them, dying hard-boiled eggs pastel colors and putting stickers all over them and microwaving peeps until they explode, but please, I can’t in good conscience associate these things with any sort of religiosity. To me, these traditions are familial in nature and represent the fun I’ve had with my family since I was born and I will continue to enjoy them!

Source

Big plans for Easter?

9 Comments

Filed under Food, Fun, Prayer, Recovery

9 responses to “Easter!

  1. Great post, I am Christian and love the Lord’s Prayer at the end of the meetings but I must admit it shocked me that a program which claims to be non religious performs this ritual.
    I totally get what you’re saying, bizarre huh?

    Happy Easter my friend 😉

    • Yeah! I’m not against other people being religious in their own personal programs, it can definitely be a life saver and and important part of life’s journey. I just think religion should be separate in meetings! Happy Easter to you love!

  2. I have been attending phone meetings and sorry but I hang up when the “usual” person reads the lords prayer. Then hesitate to come back. It feels shoved down my throut and I want to choke.

  3. Peeps Easter supper just made my day better 🙂

    I’m just doing a quiet dinner with Daniel for Easter, nothing big, missing my fam on the east coast!

    Happy weekend, love!

  4. Like sober Julie, I was shocked as well with the Lord’s prayer. Until my sponsor pointed out that it has some important words for our (or your) higher power: Thy will be done….lead us not into evil but deliver us from temptation….these are things I ask my HP to do for me on a daily basis. Like most things in life it’s your own perspective. I don’t get caught up in the specifics, I just try to keep it simple. Have a great weekend, and I loved the “peeps” at Easter Supper!

  5. Thanks for the info about the history of Easter. I had never researched the history behind the eggs, but always wondered! I always thought it was weird as a child, but I was not going to say anything because I was just happy about the free candy! Your blogs are great!

Leave a Reply

