DVR: Daily Visual Reminder

After work yesterday I headed down to Bella Bridesmaids to get fitted for my September 2011 bridesmaids dress! The bride-to-be doesn’t live in NYC (sigh) so I had to go all by myself. Don’t worry though – I’m a big girl! And I love the bride-to-be to pieces! They only had a size 10 in the dress for me to try on (um, I’m a zero?) and it wasn’t the right color so I couldn’t get the full picture, but I’m so excited and honored to be a bridesmaid!

I have officially declared 2011 as the year for engagements, marriages and babies. Everytime I turn around someone is engaged, about to get married or pregnant. A wonderful sign that I am growing up!

After the fitting I was starving and exhausted from studying all day at work so I went home, ordered pizza and turned on my TV to peruse my DVR list. Have I ever mentioned how much I love my DVR?

When I’m not out having fun at the movies, workout classes, meetings, dinners, I curl up on the couch and turn on the DVR! DVR (also known as TiVo) is the perfect device for busy people who love TV. Although I have a variety of favorite shows I love to watch, I don’t have to be tied down to watching them on a specific schedule.

I’ve gotten so used to watching things on DVR that I can’t stand watching live TV and all the commercials (except Super Bowl commercials because this one was HILARIOUS: Doritos). Did you know that 46% of people who watch shows DVR still watch the commercials? I can’t say I understand that. An HD DVR box with Time Warner costs about $7-$10 more per month I think and for me, its worth it.

DVR also helps when you want to watch two shows that are on at the same time. This has been happening to me a lot lately as this season has been so good TV-wise. This season it’s gone like this: Gossip Girl, House, Pretty Little Liars, Teen Mom 2, I Used to be Fat, Private Practice, Grey’s Anatomy, Parenthood, Californication, Shameless, Big Love and the list continues. I also record old Friends episodes in case nothing good is on.

I Used to be Fat is the latest addition to my Series Recordings this year. Leo has also recently discovered it and he said (and I quote) “It’s like watching a car crash happen – you just can’t look away.” I realize he can be tasteless in his comments sometimes, but he’s right – it is hard to look away. It’s not like Biggest Loser (also entertaining) where the contestants lose weight for money. These high school graduates (soon-to-be college freshman) are losing weight and changing their whole lives. This transformational show is a reminder that you can change your life if there is something about it you are unhappy with.

Last night, with my delicious pizza, I caught up on Teen Mom 2.

I absolutely love this show. These teen moms each made a decision typically reserved for adults when they were very young. The show explores how some of these teens are growing up and making it work and how some of them struggle big time. I was never 16 and pregnant but I did make adult decisions when I was very young that have contributed to the way I live my life today. 

I was told once that you are 40% more likely to develop alcoholism if you start drinking around age 13-15. That certainly turned out to be true for me. On the flip side, you are 70% less likely to develop alcoholism if you wait to start drinking at age 21. You can take or leave statistics and they are never 100% accurate, but it is interesting. The truth of the matter is that some of us are born alcoholics. For me, that probably wasn’t the case as it’s not in my gene pool. In the end, I’ll never know why I turned out the way I did. All I know is that I made mistakes and now I am attempting to live my life differently.

The funniest part about these two shows it that they are on MTV and that it was the only channel I wasn’t allowed to watch as a child. Can you say delayed onset of adolescent rebellion?

What’s on your DVR/TiVo/Must-watch list?

2 Comments

Filed under Fun, Recovery, TV

2 responses to “DVR: Daily Visual Reminder

  1. Ohhhhh I am so envious of your DVR! The Chris and I have discussed getting television for the first time in our lives (yes, we realize how insane that sounds). The town we’re living in right now just doesn’t have that much to do – especially when it’s snowing. 😦 I also hate not getting pop culture references. Bugs me to now end. Sometimes I just pretend like I get stuff but I’m sure I’m not fooling anyone.

    Your sentiments about changing things in your life sounds so very empowered. I love how you balance humor and inspiration in your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

