Fantastic Film-Food-Fashion Weekend

Friday night L, C and I went to see The Roommate. In hindsight – it was a dumb plotline – kind of like I Know What You Did Last Summer but with a crazy college roommate. However, I love Blair from Gossip Girl (Leighton Meester) and Gaby from Parenthood (Minka Kelly), so the cast was great. Also, the film itself was extremely captivating and I was on the edge of my seat the whole time (always the sign of a good movie).

Additionally, the soundtrack was pretty phenomenal. It included a song called Surrender by Digital Daggers which I have been playing on repeat since I discovered it on Friday night! The coolest part about discovering this song is when I tweeted about it on Saturday, the lead singer tweeted back, complimenting my blog and sharing her recovery with me! How cool is that? I was so elated to hear from her and can’t wait for Digital Daggers to perform in NYC so maybe I can meet my new favorite singer in person!!

Saturday I had class and then Physique. As I was returning home I ran into fellow AA friend who lives in my building and he invited me to check out this documentary he’s been working on. It was great to see how incredibly talented my friend is and I was honored review his work-in-progress. It’s fun to think that because of AA I have great friendships with some of the most creative and interesting people! He also mentioned a great young people’s meeting in the W 70s, so my friend B and I headed up to the meeting at 7:15. It was our first time at that particular meeting and we ran into Caron’s sponsor! It was great catching up with her and B and to find a new Saturday meeting!

Sunday Leo and I had reservations at Max Brenner in Union Square for brunch. It’s basically a chocolate store and a restaurant all in one. It was totally yummy and I highly recommend it!

After brunch we went shopping! Leo has been suggesting that I upgrade my wardrobe a bit since, outside of work, I still dress the way I did in high school and college (jeans and sweatshirts/sweaters). It’s just comfy and I hate change. Plus, I have been the same size for about ten years, so I rarely need new clothes. At any rate, I have been resisting his suggestion. But Saturday he finally agreed to help me pick out some new clothes, so I agreed we could go look! He suggested that we go to H&M so I could get a lot of new outfits for a small price. That’s exactly what we did and I’m excited about the new stuff! (Sorry, no pics!) I did end up splurging on a beautiful dress that fit me like a glove at another store:

In honor of one of my favorite Food & Fitness bloggers, PBfingers, Leo and I took a trip to the PB&J exhibit on Mulberry St! It was a small art studio with the artsy photos of peanut butter! Here is a sampling of the art on the wall:

I love this Pez one! (Called PB&P)

There was a long line to make your own Peanut Butter creation, so we picked up our free jar of Peanut Butter (see blow) and headed back into the Soho streets. The best part about this free jar of peanut butter is that for every jar they gave to the museum visitors, they donated one to the local food bank.

Spicy Peanut Butter?? I’ll try it tonight and let you know how it is!

On our walk around SoHo we stumbled upon this gem!

It’s a rice pudding store! I don’t really like rice pudding, but this stuff was quite delicious. They have a ton of options for flavors and toppings:

And to top it off the store was really neat and the signs inside were quite humorous:

This was especially funny because Pinkberry was just two doors down!

The only thing that sucked about Sunday was that it was an on/off torrential downpour most of the afternoon. Despite the rain, we went to Chelsea Piers so Leo could hit golf balls before dinner. He spent some time giving me a lesson on driving the ball, but I’m a horribly impatient student. He was sweet to try though!

Overall the weekend was pretty great and I am excited about my new food and fashion finds! And props to all the creative people in recovery – just another one of the many amazing aspects about the program.

What fun things did you stumble upon this weekend?

4 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Food, Music, Recovery

4 responses to “Fantastic Film-Food-Fashion Weekend

  1. The dress you bought is gorgeous! Love the crisp lines. I can’t wait to hear your report on the spicy peanut butter. I love sweet and spicy foods so I’ll be it’s pretty darn good. I’ll be on the hunt for it at my local WF.

  2. Wow, physique, max brenner, love of blair, we have a lot in comment, or so it seems from this post. Rice to Rices looks cool!

Leave a Reply

