Lunch, Day 2

Lunch Day 1 Recap: It turns out there was in fact no fruit in the kitchen yesterday, so I was missing part of my lunch! Not to mention that even though the skinny sandwich and tasty treats were delicious the meal was not enough food and I nearly starved during my 4 hour afternoon meeting. Note to self: make a bigger sandwich or make two of the deli flats!

On to today’s lunch! I decided to try out one of the flour tortilla wraps that I bought. Now, you’re probably thinking that I made the same sandwich I had yesterday but in wrap-format today, right? WRONG!

I used the tortilla to make a quesadilla!! What went in it? Pre-cooked chicken strips and chunks of monterey jack cheese. I usually like to put salsa or some other kind of sauce in the ‘dilla but since I wouldn’t be eating it for 4 hours, I decided to go sauce-less. [I took some great pictures but it turns out my blog is running out of GB space and I need to upgrade it before I can add any more pictures. Don’t worry – most likely I will shell out the $ for this but, boo!]

It turned out pretty well I think, despite the slight burn-age of the tortilla. I checked to make sure it was all melty inside before taking it off the pancake pan. I probably should have made it in my George Forman grill, but I haven’t used that puppy in over a year and I didn’t want to have to clean it thoroughly in addition to making my lunch.

Once it was done I put it on the cutting board to cool, cut it into three pieces and wrapped it in aluminum foil.  I also packed a fruit roll-up and a baggie of Reese’s cereal. I realize my eating habits tend to mirror a childs, but hey – it’s all about making mealtime FUN!

Lunch-prep time: 10 minutes.

Let’s just hope this is a more filling lunch than yesterday. I grabbed a banana on the way to my desk this morning to make sure I would have fruit to compliment the lunch I packed. I am also pondering incorporating a yogurt if it still isn’t enough.

If you want some more tasty quesadilla recipes, check some recipes I’ve found from the bloggers I read : Caitlin, Sabrina, Jessica and Tracey

What do you put in your quesadillas?

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Fun

2 responses to “Lunch, Day 2

  1. Thanks for the shout out. 🙂 As you know, I’ll put anything in a quesadilla. Eggs are surprisingly good. Another (simple) one I like is cheddar cheese, thin slices of apple, and a spread of Dijon mustard. Trust me on the mustard part. Also, goat cheese, spinach, and pears or apples. I could go on, but I’m sort of realizing most of my meals are in quesadilla form, and I’m not sure if that’s a good thing.

    Oh, and I TOTALLY know what you mean about the Foreman. I love mine but every time I think of using it I veto that idea. That thing is a pain to clean!

Leave a Reply

