Best Night Ever

I hope everyone’s Valentine’s Day was filled with love! Despite having to work all day and then sit through a three-hour class about pronouns and manipulating algebraic equations….yes, didn’t you know I’m re-taking the seventh grade? kidding. sort of…. I had a fantastic Valentine’s Day! And do you know WHY it was fantastic? Because I went to a meeting.

It was my first in weeks, mainly due to laziness and vacation (I do not recommend going this long without a meeting, it just ain’t smart kids). Anyways, the clubhouse is all decorated in Valentine’s Day garb (there’s a V-Day Dance at the Clubhouse on Saturday night for anyone who is interested). So of course, I felt better walking into a room that Cupid may or may not have puked all over because, that’s right, I LOVE VALENTINE’S DAY!

Being the less-than-responsible chairperson that I am, I always end up scrambling to find a speaker for the meeting at the last minute. Luckily for me, HP usually pulls through and puts someone in my life at the right time. And that is exactly what happened last night. A friend who I haven’t seen in a long time showed up at the meeting. She gave me a hug and I was SO HAPPY to see her! I asked her to speak and she accepted immediately! I was so excited, relieved and grateful all at the same time. She had a great message that everyone identified with and the meeting was a total success. And, it just so happens that she celebrated nine years of sobriety last week!  Congrats!

Wow I just used a ton of exclamation points. But seriously, it felt so great. You know that amazing feeling you get when you can see someone in your network grow and change? That’s what I felt last night. That’s what made it the best Valentine’s Day ever. Not chocolates or heart-shaped pancakes (although, those were great!), it was that I was lucky enough to witness the progress of someone else’s recovery!! And the business meeting was short and sweet, so that was awesome too.

And then this morning I got a series of disappointed texts from Leo because I hadn’t received any packages in the mail (I was supposed to be looking out for “special golf balls” he was having sent to my place since he can’t get packages at his apartment). It turns out he sent me flowers (so sweet!) but the delivery man was a complete  fail. It’s ok Leo, it’s the thought that counts!

So yeah, this was a wordy post, but had to share my excitement about having such a great night! Tonight Caron and I are going to a free trial for a local gym – yay for trying new things! Tomorrow’s post will likely be about our workout, so check back!

What makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside??

2 Comments

Filed under Love, Recovery

2 responses to “Best Night Ever

  1. This is awesome !!! I love that you are doing this… Absolutely awesome.. you’re not only going to connect the fellowship in the city, but in the entire world..> I love it!

Leave a Reply

