Vacations are sometimes necessary

One thing that I have learned in the almost three years of being in the adult working world (aka being a productive member of society) is that vacations are necessary in order to keep from going completely insane. So as much as I love this island that we call Manhattan, occasionally it is a treat to leave it. And not just for holidays and the requisite family visits, but a real vacation – with no schedule or obligations. I’ve only had one or two so far.

And so, this past week Leo and I enjoyed a 9 day trip to Colorado to ski!

Look how beautiful it is! We had some amazing snowstormy powder days and some amazing blue sky days like this one.

You don’t ski? That’s ok. I’ve only been skiing a handful of times in my life, but it’s really fun and a great sport to learn. In the spirit of learning to be better at fun things, we took group lessons for three days during the week and by the end I felt like a whole new athlete! Leo is slightly more talented (or just more daring) on the slopes than I am so we were in different groups for our first two lessons. Taking two days to ski apart was actually pretty nice to meet new people and enjoy going at our own pace so I wasn’t pushed too hard or holding him back. But the last day my instructor suggested I go into the level 8 group with Leo, so we got to show each other our newfound skills!

We stayed with family friends and therefore didn’t have to pay for a hotel which was great. We basically romped around on the mountain all day everyday. Early to bed and early to the lift was our motto. Most nights we ate in and one night we went bowling at this great place in the village called bol. This is my last vacation for a while, so I’m glad we had a great time!

Some other personal highlights of this vacation:

– I only had one cigarette the whole week! (I think it’s time to quit for good)

– Exercising every single day felt so good, I have a new motivation to get to the gym!

Thanks so much to K who stayed in my apartment and took care of my kitties all week!

What are some fun vacations you’ve taken?

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise, Vacation

Leave a Reply

