Onto Step Four…

I met with ASL (Awesome Sponsor Lady) on Tuesday night at my apartment. She had yet to meet Crazy and The Dark One yet, so it was nice to introduce her to them! They behaved more or less as we went through my third step and read about the fourth step in the Big Book. My assignment for the third step was to memorize the Third Step Prayer. It’s much more difficult than in NA!

AA Third Step Prayer:

God, I offer myself to Thee–to build with me and to do with me as Thou wilt. Relieve me of the bondage of self, that I may better do Thy will. Take away my difficulties, that victory over them may bear witness to those I would help of Thy Power, Thy Love, and Thy Way of life. May I do Thy will always

NA Third Step Prayer:

Take my will and my life. Guide me in my recovery. Show me how to live.

We addicts like to KEEP IT SIMPLE, no? Haha…anyway, I did memorize it the AA way and we said it together in front of a beautiful sunset. I am excited to move on to Step Four. I never moved past the beginning stages of Step Four in NA, so I am excited to continue my journey and get this thing cranked out in the next two months or so.

For all the normies out there, the Fourth Step is: “Made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves.”

My first assignment for step four is to make a list of everyone I’ve ever known. Seriously. Of course some of those people will come off the list eventually, but it will be an interesting task just to look at how many people have really impacted my life and perhaps my disease along the way. And then the next steps will be to see what those people did and how it made me feel and what my part in it was among other things. It takes a lot of stamina to write a fourth step, a lot of focus and time. I am looking forward to the process and the outcome though, because most people have told me that they have a much better understanding of who they are afterwards. My sponsor will help to point of the patterns in my relationships with others. I suspect that most of my resentments towards others are out of fear, but we shall see what is revealed.

Have you ever done a Fourth Step?

4 Comments

Filed under Recovery

4 responses to “Onto Step Four…

  1. Stamina? You’ve got this one, then!!
    Yes, step four is , to say the least, both humbling and enlightening.
    Good luck!
    ~d

  2. ASL

    I have faith you will have no problem with the fourth step. And I know you will reap the benefits xo

Leave a Reply

